No Restrictions to Access? – Open Access Publishing

Image

Flickr via suttonhoo

During the course of my research over the past couple years, there have been many times when I have seemingly found the perfect article to support some aspect of my argument — only to literally curse aloud a moment later when I hit the brick wall reading “No Access”. This has to be one of the most frustrating phrases to come across as an academic.

I was very happy, then, when I came across the video below over at PhD Comics. It does a fantastic job of explaining the idea of Open Access publishing and some of the major benefits of the system.

If the embedded video doesn’t work for some reason, you can also see it here.

One of the best lines in the video, I think, is: “I believe that science spreads and increases best when there are no restrictions to access. I want discovery to happen faster and openness helps accelerate that.”

So what are your thoughts on access to research and knowledge? I would be particularly interested to hear what people in non-academic professions think about this issue as it affects them too.

One response to “No Restrictions to Access? – Open Access Publishing

  1. Pingback: Smarter Sundays | The Northern Strands·

Leave a Reply

