Okay, let’s blow everything up and start again.

I’ve been blogging intermittently now for about three months, and in that time I’ve learned a few things:

1. People like it (i.e. read more) when I update semi-regularly.

2. It is easier to update semi-regularly when I have something easy to write about.

3. Writing about stuff I’m super interested in is way easier than writing about other stuff; also, I enjoy it more (which is nice).

In the past three months, I’ve written about everything from open access publishing to the NHL lockout, from books I’ve read to apples. Some of these posts were really well thought-out and enjoyable to write, but many were hurried and posted mostly just because I felt like I had to put something up. With the three lessons above in mind, however, it’s clear that’s not the way to go about things. As a result, I am going to go ahead and pretty much blow up my entire way of doing things up to this point and start over. Here we go!

Nothing bad ever came of nuclear explosions, right?

Nothing bad ever came of nuclear explosions, right?

Ah, much better now. A fresh start. Tabula rasa.

So, what is going to change?

Well, first of all, the hodge-podge, write about whatever I want attitude is going out the window. From now on, my blog is going to have a specific theme – that is, Classics, archaeology, and academia. These are the topics I enjoy writing about the most and which I find the most interesting, and there is always plenty to discuss and share. Plus, it would be great to get other people interested in these topics as well!

Secondly, I am going to make myself stick to a very strict update schedule. There will be one regular weekly post on Thursdays, and a bi-weekly Smarter Sundays post on (appropriately) Sundays.

Those are the two main changes I am going to be implementing, but I will probably tweak the blog’s images and style a bit to fit with the new themes as well. So don’t be surprised if there’s a slightly different look one day.

Hopefully these changes will help make things more interesting around here, but if you have any further suggestions don’t hesitate to speak up. Let me know what you guys think in the comments, Facebook, or Twitter!

3 responses to “Okay, let’s blow everything up and start again.

Leave a Reply

